The Blogger Recognition Award

I have been nominated for The Blogger Recognition Award by Catherine at Miss P Meets World . I am pretty new to blogging and I’m only still going thanks to those that have been supportive (including Catherine). So to be nominated by her is great! It’s really nice to know I may have supported someone else too, so thank you Catherine for the nomination.

The Rules

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to.

How it started

A few years ago I began thinking about going back to work after a whopping 8 years off. I found it an immensely difficult process and I realised that I had lost a huge amount of confidence. I had at a similar time become exposed to a number of blogs and loved the idea of starting one as I have always loved writing. So the idea was born of basing my blog around the return to work journey I was going through, and how I worked on getting my confidence back. I wanted the blog to spur me on and to also help others going through something similar.

However, I only started the blog a few months ago, as it took me a long time to build up the confidence to set it up in the first place. So it’s been up and running for a short while and I am loving it! It’s now a back to work diary blog, also with parenting and favourites/review posts. I’ve even started a chat about #mumconfidence on twitter in the hope that we Mums can help each other with some of our confidence issues.(twitter.com/@mummeetsworld)

My advice to new bloggers

1 Work Hard

I had heard that blogging was a lot of work, but it didn’t really hit home until I got stuck into it myself. Not only can the blog writing itself take a while, but the social media effort can take up a lot of time too. I will warn you that I never stop thinking about it and it takes up a lot of headspace, but I love it!

2 Be patient

I didn’t expect my blog to become an overnight success, but I couldn’t help but feel despondent that for a while NO ONE read it whatsoever! But keep perspective, because if you’re doing what you love you will be able to keep going. That’s what I did. And while it’s not a huge success, I do get a great number of readers now, and that makes me really happy!

I am nominating the following bloggers because they have been incredibly helpful and supported me as a newbie! Please pass on the love if you can/want to!

My Petit Canard

Mummabellehowe

A Devon Mum

Emily Williams

Motherhood: The Real Deal

Plutonium Sox

Mummy Toosh

Not Just a Mum from Cumbria

Mummy Gummie

The Reading Residence

Surrey MamaΒ 

A Cornish Mum blog

Mummy Times Two

This Surrey Mummy

Mum Muddling Through

I could have added many more!! Thanks everyone! You’ve made me feel so supported and welcome to the community.

Mum Meets World x

2 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award”

Leave a Reply

